Slide background

Medical Coding

The Medical Coding program at TVArk consists of a one-semester certificate of proficiency
in medical coding. Additionally, the college offers one-year technical certificates in this area.

Medical Coding

Medical Coding

TVArk offers a one-year (3-semester) Technical Certificate in Medical Coding. In addition to the Technical Certificate, students will earn a Certificate of Proficiency (CP) upon successful completion of all first semester courses on the full-time pathway (17 credit hours). There are two pathway options; part-time and full-time. The next program cohort begins January 2025. Application to the program is not required. The program has an open enrollment until filled.

Click HERE for important information you should understand about being a student in the Medical Coding program and the profession of Medical Coding.

The Medical Coding program, which is online, aims to prepare individuals for diagnostic and procedural coding positions in hospitals, physician offices, clinics, long-term care facilities, insurance companies, home care agencies, managed care organizations, and surgical centers. The program prepares graduates for the certification exam of their choice as well as real-world simulation through online instruction, expectation, and practice coding. 

Students must successfully complete required program courses each semester with a grade of C or higher to be eligible to progress to the next level of the program and ALL courses in the program MUST be completed with a minimum grade of C. 

The Medical Coding program utilizes weighted grades for each of the courses. Weighted grades determine how tests, quizzes, and other assignments should count towards the final grade. 

The Certification course (HCIT 2774) in the final semester (summer), consists of online certification exam preparation and a minimum of 45 hours of Practicum. 

After successfully completing the Medical Coding TC program, students are eligible and encouraged to register for and take a certified coding exam such as but not limited to, the Certified Coding Associate (CCA) exam with the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) or the Certified Professional Coder (CPC) exam with the American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC).

For information about online learning click here.